Homemade Apple Pie

For my first baked good, I chose the all-American classic: Apple Pie! I had never made a pie before, and I’ll admit, I cheated and used a Stop & Shop premade pie crust. I figured taking baby steps was best for my first attempt at baking. I used two different recipes for my end result. First, allrecipes.com Apple Pie by Grandma Ople, fantastic reviews from both their website and from the friends and family I graciously forced my dessert on.

IMG_0326To start off, obviously you have to peel a bunch of apples, allrecipes.com said eight – so for some reason I decided twelve was what I should go to. The worry about the apples cooking down and the pie not being big enough was intense. IMG_0328The liquid deliciousness of butter, brown sugar, and sugar, that is the apple pie filling glaze, was a beautiful sight. I had assumed that it would be difficult to make up this concoction without burning it, I was delighted to have done it correctly and it seemed to come out perfectly! Not only did it look wonderful, it made my kitchen smell like a bakery instantly.
IMG_0329IMG_0333After drizzling this liquid gold upon my mountain of apples, I took my second Stop & Shop premade crust and cut it into strips. Laying it in an array of what I thought would look cute, yet at the same time not having a clue of what I was doing. (Again, I apologize that I used premade crust, I’ll learn how to make crust from scratch, I promise!) Then I topped the pie with Paula Deen’s Crunch Top Apple Pie recipe, only the crunch top section – I also added in some brown sugar, because it felt weird not having that on top of an apple pie. After topping it, I let it cook at 400 degrees for fifteen minutes, then dropped it down to 350 for 40 minutes!IMG_0335 The end result is something I am very proud of! The only thing that I wish I had done differently is letting it bake a little longer. Everyone who ate some said the bottom crust could have used a few more minutes in the oven, but hey, it was my first attempt! Now I know for next time! Though, thinking about it I would have also added in some cinnamon to the glaze for the inside. Overall, I would rate this a success!IMG_0339

Leave a comment